• 15 more finalists have been announced in the 2019 Growth Investor Awards
  • The second batch of finalists are grouped into two awards celebrating the people and companies that promote investment into SMEs


31 JULY 2019 – Today 15 more finalists have been announced in the 2019 Growth Investor Awards, showcasing the exceptional people and teams fuelling ambitious SMEs by promoting alternative investments.

Now in their fifth year, the Growth Investor Awards are a landmark event in the investment and SME landscapes. With the support of investors, businesses, and government and industry bodies, they celebrate the people and companies who support the UK’s growing businesses with equity investment.

The finalists announced today are in the running for two awards: Financial Adviser of the Year and Wealth Manager of the Year. These two categories celebrate the individuals and companies that promote alternative investments for their clients.


The Financial Adviser of the Year award recognises individual financial advisers who promote alternative investments. It’s judged on how they educate themselves and how they apply expertise to add value for their clients. The full list of finalists is:

Christopher Feeney (Advanta Wealth Ltd)

Robert Lewis (Celtic Financial Planning Ltd)

Stephen Jones (Clear Solutions)

Jonothan McColgan (Combined Financial Strategies)

Toby Owen-Browne (Finura Partners)

Ed Holder (Holder & Combes)

David Stamp (Independent Financial Solutions)

Adrian Murphy (Murphy Wealth)


The Wealth Manager of the Year award celebrates companies that promote alternative investments. Judges will look at how these companies optimise research and education, how they apply expertise to add value to their clients, and how they promote such investments as part of their portfolio.

Advanta Wealth Ltd

Amicus Wealth Ltd

Ascot Wealth Management


Greystone Wealth Management

Tavistock Wealth



“Now in their fifth year, the Growth Investor Awards have rightly become a landmark event in the calendars of the UK’s SME investment community. For one evening each year we celebrate the inspiring individuals and leading organisations whose talents and commitment helps UK entrepreneurs to power Britain’s economic growth”, says Guy Tolhurst, Managing Director of Intelligent Partnership, the organiser of these long-standing awards.

He adds: “I look forward to shining a much-needed spotlight on all of these providers on November 6 at the Royal Lancaster Hotel. To reach the finalist stage in such a competitive field of entrants is a huge achievement.”

Winners of all the awards categories will be announced at an exclusive black-tie dinner hosted for over 450 guests on November 6 at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, London.



Finalists have been chosen by Intelligent Partnership’s research team, guided by an advisory board. Their entries have now been passed to the second round of judging, carried out by at least three people from an independent panel of 35 judges to provide a diverse mix of qualified perspectives. All of the judges’ scores are collated to determine the winner, with all finalists receiving a personalised feedback and benchmarking report to provide insight about areas for improvement.

All the finalists announced this week will now go on to a second round of judging by an independent panel drawn from the alternative investment industry and wider business community.

All of the judges’ scores will be collated to determine a winner and runners-up in each category. Every finalist receives personalised feedback and a benchmarking report, providing them with valuable insight on areas of improvement.

The Growth Investor Awards is guided by an Advisory Board that ensures its criteria recognise best practice and the awards reflect key industry trends and developments. The Board includes:

  • Claire Cockerton – Founder, Innovative Finance
  • Sherry Coutu CBE – Angel Investor, Entrepreneur & Non-executive Director, London Stock Exchange
  • Simon Deconshire OBE – Entrepreneur in Residence, UK Government
  • Luke Johnson – Chairman, Risk Capital Partners
  • Emma Jones MBE – CEO, Enterprise Nation
  • Mike Harris – Founding CEO, Egg & First Direct
  • Tim Hames – Director General, BVCA
  • Michael Hayman MBE – CEO, Seven Hills


Information about previous award winners, judges and selection criteria for each award can be found at growthinvestorawards.com

Leave a Reply